WASHINGTON — Thursday was the big day for North Carolina’s 13 members of the House of Representatives. They are now officially sworn-in.

The delegation of seven Republicans and six Democrats includes four new members. Members of the new Congress took at oath of office at noon on Thursday. The ceremony comes one day after the 112th Congress took a significant vote to save the country from going over the fiscal cliff.

However there is still more work to be done on the financial spectrum. The new Congress must begin talks on how to handle the debt ceiling in the coming weeks.

“I know you are feeling a bit awestruck at this moment. History runs through this building. Now you are among a select few to share in this privilege. For those of you who are returning, who have walked these aisles before, maybe it is time we get a little awestruck again,” said Rep. John Boehner.

North Carolina’s delegation has a different look after the swearing-in. Before, there was a 7-6 split with a Democratic majority. Now there are nine Republicans and four Democrats.